Wednesday, February 13, 2008

What I Really Think about V-Day

Valentine's Day...

I have always had a really hard time with this whole thing. I never had a boyfriend growing up so I began to hate the day as it exposed my feelings of rejection, blah blah.

I despise how it is so commercialized and so very demanding. It seems like it is women demanding attention and men just doing their best to not screw up. This type of behavior just maximizes all of the caricatures of our post-feministic-explosion culture. I am not anti-feminist nor do I hate love. However, I think this is just overplayed.

I also feel like I am supposed to get excited about this day as a Christian. Jesus loves me, this I know… I believe this and even try to share it with others. However, the way that love is expressed in this crazy day is not really much like what I see in the life of Jesus.

The only problem is when you begin to expect that is going to be awful and make yours and your husband’s life a living crazy ward as a result. I am Queen Stupidhead! Anyway, I guess life happens while we are working out the details. I am thankful for the lessons I learned growing up, for the fact that my only true love is the one I married who is also the only one I kissed after Middle School. I am thankful that, no matter how crazy I get, said ball-and-chain is steady and loves me. I am thankful that he sees the vision and remembers the days I am nice to him. =)

Jesus on Valentine's Day: Love the Lord and love others...EVERY DAY! (PS That is not a direct quote)

No comments:

Post a Comment